Do you want to share Instagram posts or stories with only a selected number of people?
FACT: Instagram is an ideal platform if you want to build a strong community. But once you’ve gained more followers, though, you may want to filter your content.
Your boss shouldn’t necessarily see the posts that your best friend sees, after all and vice versa.
That’s when you need Close Friends on Instagram.
Here’s everything you need to know about Instagram’s Close Friends list to use it even on your professional account.
Instagram launched the Close Friends feature in 2018. The social media platform’s aim for doing so was simple – To let you create a small group of friends to share more personal content.
The idea was to privately share your Instagram Stories more selectively so that you have the control of what everyone sees.
As Instagram’s launch announcement mentioned, “sometimes what you want to share isn’t for everyone.”
Instead of sharing one Story that everyone gets to see, you can use the Close Friends feature to be more flexible with posts.
Not everyone needs to know everything about your personal moments, and that’s what makes Close Friends a handy feature.
By sharing a Story to your closest friends, they can see it marked with a green circle around it while the rest of your friends will never know that you’ve shared it!
Here’s a step-by-step guide to set up a list of Close Friends on Instagram.
Just like that, you have now set up your network of Close Friends!
Keep in mind; you are the only one who can access this list. You don’t need to apologize to anyone for not making it to your list, as they will never know whether they are part of it or not!
Your Close Friends will be able to see your private Stories having a green ring around them. It’s the only indication for someone to know that you’ve added them to your special list of Close Friends.
Similarly, if you see an Instagram Story with a green circle around it, you know that one of your friends has added you to their Close Friends list.
You can review your Instagram Close Friends anytime and add or remove people from the list.
You can even start from scratch and remove all the followers from your list if you want to use the feature differently.
Don’t worry; your friends won’t be notified, so it’s up to you to decide how you’ll use the Close Friends Instagram feature.
If you’re wondering how to edit your Close Friends, here’s what you need to do.
As you can see, it’s a straightforward process both to set up and edit your Close Friends list.
The process is similar to sharing your usual Instagram Stories.
You’ve just shared the Story with selected friends only.
You might be wondering, why should I use the Close Friends Instagram feature. Can’t I just share my Stories to everyone instead?
Of course, you can!
However, Close Friends can help you personalize your most personal content to post Stories that you wouldn’t usually share with everyone.
You can also use Close Friends to create a small network of your favorite people and treat your Stories as a messaging group. If you love sharing Stories in general, you can use this feature to share a funny post or an unexpected moment with your best friends.
It’s a secret option for you and your friends to supplement Direct Messages.
There are even benefits for businesses that want to use Close Friends.
Most Instagram users set up a list of Close Friends to share Stories with their favorite people.
But you can use the feature as a business too.
Here are some best practices to follow.
If your brand is frequently working with influencers, you can add your best partnerships to a list of Close Friends to share relevant content with them.
You can share updates, announcements, and everything they need to know about your upcoming campaigns.
Having many ambassadors or loyal fans for your brand can help you boost your Instagram engagement.
Using the Close Friends Instagram feature, you’re creating an exclusive network for your fans willing to support you.
You can use it to share exclusive content, sneak previews, campaign news to keep them in the loop with everything happening in your business.
If you’re offering professional services as a trainer or consultant, you can use the Close Friends feature to add all your clients in one place.
It’s an easy way to share updates, announcements, tips, and anything relevant to them but not all your friends.
If you still haven’t used the Close Friends feature, then it’s certainly worth the try.
It’s effortless to set it up, and it can make the Instagram experience more fun and personalized.
Whether you have a personal or professional profile, you can still make the most of it and boost your most influential followers’ engagement.